Monique O’Connor James

Interview November 3, 2013

 

I had the chance to interview Monique O’Connor James today, and let me tell you, she is a real pip. She has a great sense of humor and in doing this interview she had some help with the wording of her answers. I did tell her I would give credit where credit was due. So we also need to thank her kitty “Ollie” for helping. As you know Monique is a mother of two, a wife, a published author of 12 books and an owner of a publishing company. She started Bayou Brew Publishing Company as a safe-haven for indie authors to be seen and heard. And it is totally a family oriented company ran by Indie author’s for Indie authors. We wish her well in her endeavor. And we are looking forward to more outstanding work via BBP.

Amy: What made you decide to start your own publishing company?

Monique: I truly wanted for authors to have a safe place to express themselves and share their work with the world. It’s hard sometimes to do it on your own.

Amy: Who inspired your writing? And at what age did you start?

Monique: I started writing at about eight years old. My mom was by far my biggest inspiration. She gave me my first journal and encouraged me to write down my feelings and experiences.

Amy: Is it complicated to be an author and running a publishing company all while being a wife and a mother?

Monique: It would be a lot more complicated without Amy Herzog my partner. Yes, sometimes it is hard to keep all the balls up in the air but I love writers and readers!

Amy: What do your children think about their mama being a published author and owner of a publishing company?

Monique: Oh they are very proud. My daughter, the youngest, tells everyone and my son helps me plot and plan stories. I think it shows them you can do anything if you truly want to.

Amy: Are any of the books you have published personal or are they purely for entertainment purposes? Or a little of both?

Monique: They all have a bit of me in them. The first one, The Keepers was a fictionalized version of what it was like to lose my mother to breast cancer and Jamais Vu was loosely based on an accident my mom had while playing with a loaded gun.

Amy: Do you have any writing rituals?

Monique: Well I always or usually write long-hand before I type out what I write and there must me a coke available!

Amy: What is your favorite music to listen to while writing?

Monique: Alternative rock

Amy: What is the most challenging aspect of running a publishing company?

Monique: Wishing that we could get everyone’s stories out to the world and knowing how difficult that is.

Amy: Who were some of your favorite authors growing up?

Monique: Anne Rice, Dean Koontz and Stephen King. But I like indie authors now.

 

Amy: What is more important while writing, your characters or plot?

Monique: Both. I like a plot that has lots of unexpected turns but if your characters don’t have depth then the reader won’t be able to relate.

Amy: Anything you want to leave the readers with?

Monique: If you haven’t checked out indie authors, do yourself a favor and grab a few titles. There is so much untapped talent just waiting to entertain you. Also, I always find it hard to be myself in these interviews so you want to meet the real goofy me, add me on Facebook.

Amy: What is your favorite color?

Monique: Oh geez the color is always hard black and purple today

Amy: What is your favorite food?

Monique: Gumbo

Amy: What part of the country are you from?

Monique: Louisiana

 

You can find Monique O’Connor James on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/moniqueoconnorjamesauthor

You can also follow her on twitter: @mjames13

Bayou Brew Publishing:

Find us on the web: www.bayoubrewpublishing.com

Find us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BayouBrewPublishing?ref=hl

Follow us on twitter: @bayoubrupublish

**You can also find any one of Monique’s books on: www.amazon.com

 

Thank you

Leave a Reply

